sam fantlab ru

Журнал «Cry of the Nameless»

Средняя оценка:
Моя оценка:

Cry of the Nameless

Другие названия: Cry

Журнал, год


Cry of the Nameless was a science fiction fandom fanzine published by F.M. Busby (1921-2005) and Elinor Busby with Wally Weber, Burnett Toskey and G. M. Carr (1907-2005).

It was begun in the 1950s by F. M. Busby as a club bulletin of The Nameless Ones, a science fiction club in Seattle, Washington, U.S.A. In the mid-50s, the name was shortened to Cry, when the zine editors began publishing more general material and the editors began paying the publishing costs. During that time, it had a reputation as the most 'fannish' fanzine, and was accessible to newer fans, while also including older fans and established personalities such as Robert Heinlein.

It featured a prozine review column by F.M. Busby, the «Random Harvest» column by Terry Carr (Klein Bottle, Innuendo, Lighthouse), the trip reports «The Goon Goes West» by John Berry (Pot Pourri), fiction by Hal Lynch, writing by Ruth Berman (All Mimsy, NeoLithic, SH — sf Fanthology), Redd Boggs (Sky Hook), Ed Cox (Altair), Les Gerber, Dean Grennell (Filler, Grue), Vonda McIntyre, Hal Lynch, Len Moffatt (The Outlander, Shangri L'Affaires), and Ted White (Stellar); it was the first zine to publish work by artist Steve Stiles, and included a very popular letter column by Wally Weber. The fanzine got letters from all sorts of fans including one from Albert Einstein in August 1952, as well as and novice fans like David B. Williams.

Cover art work was contributed by ATom (The ATom Anthology), Marv Bryer, Les Nirenberg (The Panic Button), Steve Stiles, Victor Stredicke, Bjo Trimble (Shangri L'Affaires), and Sylvia Dees White (Flafan), among others.

It's true success though, was in capturing the lives of the various fans involved in «The Nameless Ones», their meetings, parties, get togethers to make the zine, visits to each others home and their lives, recipes from Elinor Busby, all related to readers from a humorous angle. The circle of people involved included Jim and Doreen Webbert (Por Que?), Vonda McIntyre, Gordon Eklund, Jerry Pournelle; G. M. Carr, Wally Weber and Burnett Toskey, who were also editors at some points in the life of the zine; and the Busbys.

Letter came from Es Adams, Boyd Raeburn (A Bas), rich brown, Jim Caughran, Bob Lichtman, Archie Mercer (Vector, The Middle Earthworm), Len Moffat (The Outlander), Bjo Trimble (Pas-Tell, Shangri L'Affaires), Harry Warner, Jr. (Horizons), and Walt Willis (Hyphen).

It ceased publication in mid 1964 after the 174th issue, due to Wally Weber's move to Alabama, although briefly making a comeback in the late 60's.

Cry of the Nameless won the Hugo Award for Best Fanzine in 1960.

In 1964, Wally Weber also co-edited The National Fantasy Fan, with Janie Lamb.

Elinor Busby also published Fapulous, and the apazine Salud in the 1960s.

Награды и премии:

Хьюго / Hugo Award, 1960 // Любительский журнал

Номинации на премии:

Хьюго / Hugo Award, 1959 // Любительский журнал

Хьюго / Hugo Award, 1962 // Любительский журнал


Отзывы читателей

Рейтинг отзыва

Написать отзыв:
Писать отзывы могут только зарегистрированные посетители!Регистрация

⇑ Наверх